According to Massachusetts law, the prospective couple must jointly file intentions to marry and may do so with the city or town clerk in any community in the state. There is a mandatory three-day waiting period before the license can be issued. Once obtained, the marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date the intentions are filed and may be used in any Massachusetts city or town. The license is not valid outside of the state.
Fees for the marriage license vary from town to town. Kingston's fee is $40. To schedule an appointment, additional filing information, and questions may be directed to the Town Clerk's Office at 781-585-0502.