Agricultural Commission


Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • John E Wheble, Jr., Chairman
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Karen S. Johnson
    Term Expires: 2026
  • Joseph B. Mathias
    Term Expires: 2026
  • Christine M. Nava Moulthrop
    Term Expires: 2026
  • Rui David Santos
    Term Expires: 2025

Associate Members: Non-Voting

  • Elizabeth Corbett
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Donald Alcombright (Board of Selectmen)
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Jean Landis Naumann
    Term Expires: 2024

Duties & Responsibilities

General By-Laws, Chapter 4, Article 14

Voted April 1, 2006 ATM Article 14: Five members who are engaged in farming, appointed by the Board of Selectmen for terms of three years. In addition, the BOS may appoint up to three non-voting associate members for a term of one year, one of whom shall be a selectman.

Right to Farm

Town of Kingston General By-Laws, Chapter 23 (2008 ATM, Art. 31) 
The purpose and intent of this is to state with emphasis the Right to Farm accorded to all citizens of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts under Article 97 of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. We, the citizens of Kingston, restate and republish these rights pursuant to the Town’s authority conferred by Article 89 of the Articles of Amendment of the Massachusetts Constitution, (“Home Rule Amendment”).

Pursuit of Agriculture This General By-Law encourages the pursuit of agriculture, promotes agriculture-based economic opportunities, and protects farmland within the Town of Kingston by allowing agricultural uses and related activities to function with minimal conflict with abutters and Town agencies. This By-Law shall apply to all jurisdictional areas within the Town.